Do Barossa Wine Tours Include Lunch?
Most Barossa wine tours include lunch, but not all: here is what each listing actually says about lunch, tasting fees and pickup, tour by tour.
The fastest way to answer this is to read the fine print rather than the tour names. Of the 26 Barossa tours listed on this site, 17 include lunch in the ticket and 9 do not, and the split does not follow price or format in any neat way. A shared coach day at A$179 per person includes lunch; the hop-on hop-off bus at A$100 per person does not; the private tailored day at A$750 per group leaves lunch to you.
This article walks through the tours one by one. Where a listing describes the meal, that description is copied here. Where the row says nothing about pickup or tasting fees, we say so plainly rather than guessing, because a tour's name is never a reliable guide to what is in it.
Do Barossa Wine Tours Include Lunch?
Yes, most Barossa wine tours include lunch, but not all of them do. Across the 26 live Barossa listings currently tracked, 17 tours build a meal into the itinerary, while the remaining 9 leave lunch out entirely. That means roughly two in three tours feed you along the way, so check the inclusions before booking if a midday meal matters to your plans. The exceptions cluster in predictable places. Hop-on hop-off transport, short scenic flights, half-day trike rides and several private touring days sell the driving and the flexibility, not the meal. Every shared and small-group full-day wine tour listed on this site includes lunch without exception. Lunch or no lunch, the wine is the reason you're there, so start with this evidence-based rundown of how good Barossa wine actually is.
That last sentence is worth pausing on, because it makes the decision simpler than it looks. If you book any of the full-day shared coach, small-group or max-6 tours listed here, lunch is in the ticket. If you book the hop-on hop-off bus, a helicopter flight, the trike, or one of the private days that states "lunch: not included", you will be buying food separately at a cellar door, a bakery or a winery restaurant.

The three listings below span the whole spread: a premium small-group day with lunch and chocolate included, the hop-on hop-off bus without a meal, and a private tailored day where lunch is your own arrangement. Reading all three inclusions lists side by side is the quickest way to see what the A$100 to A$750 range actually buys.
One more framing point before the detail. "Lunch included" means different things on different listings: a regional platter, a clubhouse meal, a multi-course restaurant lunch or a menu choice with a drink. The next sections separate the yes-or-no question from the what-exactly question, because a platter and a degustation are both lunches but not the same product.
Which Barossa Tours Include Lunch, And What Kind?
All 17 tours in this section list lunch among their inclusions, so whichever one you pick, a midday meal is covered. As for the kind of lunch, 15 of the 17 go further and name the actual meal or the venue directly in their listing text, so you can see exactly what is on offer before you book. The Premium Small Group tour from See Adelaide includes a regional platter lunch. The Cellar Door Small Group tour from CP Tours and Charters eats at The Tanunda Club. The Max 6 Guests tour from Small Batch Wine Tours builds in a multi-course restaurant lunch with a premium beverage of your choice.
The full picture is in the table below, built from every tour listed on this site. Where the row gives no meal description, the table says so rather than filling the gap.
| Tour (decision name) | From (as printed) | Lunch included | What the listing says about it |
|---|---|---|---|
| Premium Small Group, Chocolate Tasting | A$189 per person | Yes | Regional platter lunch showcasing local Barossa produce |
| Four Wineries, Clubhouse Lunch | A$189 per person | Yes | The Tanunda Clubhouse |
| All Inclusive, Lunch and Coffee | A$209 per person | Yes | Lunch, plus coffee and/or tea |
| Brewery Stop, Chocolate, Lunch | A$149 per person | Yes | Choice of lunch from the menu plus a wine, beer or soft drink |
| Chocolate Company, Kies Lunch | A$179 per person | Yes | Lunch at Kies Family Wines |
| Hahndorf Combo, Gourmet Lunch | A$175 per person | Yes | Gourmet lunch with wine tasting |
| Private, Wine-Paired Degustation | A$440 per person | Yes | Degustation lunch paired with wines |
| Shared Day, Regional Platter Lunch | about A$238 per person | Yes | Generous regional platter of locally sourced products |
| Max 6 Guests, Restaurant Lunch | A$380 per person | Yes | Multi-course lunch with choice of premium beverage |
| Guided E-Bike, Artisan Platter | about A$335 per person | Yes | Artisan platter at Yalumba |
| Maggie Beer Visit, Hahndorf Finish | A$179 per person | Yes | Lunch (listing does not name the venue) |
| Four Tastings, Seppeltsfield Village | A$175 per person | Yes | Gourmet vineyard lunch with GF, vegan and veg options |
| Morning Tea, Two-Course Lunch | A$214 per person | Yes | Two-course lunch at Lambert Estate Wines |
| Wine Diva, Lunch Platter Included | A$195 per person | Yes | Lunch platter |
| Six-Hour Small Group, Barossa Pickup | A$245 per person | Yes | Lunch (listing does not name the venue) |
| Small Group, Lunch and Water | A$245 per person | Yes | Lunch (listing does not name the venue) |
| Gin and Wine Day, Lunch Included | A$209 per person | Yes | Lunch, with gin and wine tasting |
Two patterns stand out. First, the platter is the region's workhorse meal: See Adelaide, AMQ Tours and Wine Diva Tours all describe a platter of local produce, which suits groups and travels well to dietary needs. Second, the two most meal-forward listings are also the two most expensive per person: the degustation lunch on the ExperienceSA private premium tour and the multi-course restaurant lunch on the Small Batch max-6 tour. On those, the lunch is part of the product, not an add-on.
Dietary needs are named on at least one row. The Benders Bus Tours listing for the Four Tastings day states the gourmet vineyard lunch includes gluten-free, vegan and vegetarian options, and the AMQ Tours platter row states dietary requirements are catered for. For anything beyond that, the booking page is the place to ask, since tour listings do not carry kitchen-level detail.

The featured tour on this page sits right in the middle of that table. The Premium Barossa Small Group Tour from See Adelaide runs eight hours from A$189 per person with hotel pickup, tastings at Kies Family Wines, Chateau Tanunda and Rosenvale Vineyards, a regional platter lunch and a stop at Melba's Chocolates, and it carries a 4.9 rating from 1,697 reviews. A guest review on the listing puts it plainly: "Even if you are not a wine lover, you certainly will be after this experience!" Free cancellation is available up to 24 hours before departure, which is the cutoff printed on that listing and no other. You can read the full inclusions on the premium small group tour page, and our broader Barossa wine tour cost breakdown shows how lunch shapes the per-person maths.
A closely related question is whether the tasting fees ride along with the lunch, and the answer is separately decided. Only six of the tours listed here spell out tasting fees as included: the Cellar Door Small Group tour, the ExperienceSA private premium day, the AMQ Tours shared day, the SAVICONNECT private luxury day, the Max 6 Guests tour and the Valley Wine Tours six-hour day. Three rows state them explicitly NOT included: the hop-on hop-off bus, the Wine Diva small group tour and the Barossa Bespoke private day. The remaining 17 rows do not say either way, and those rows should be read as unstated, not as included. Our Barossa wine tasting fees guide covers what individual cellar doors charge.
Which Barossa Tours Do Not Include Lunch?
Nine of the 26 Barossa tour listings do not include lunch. These no-lunch options fall into three clear groups: hop-on hop-off transport services, short scenic and active experiences, and private touring days sold as driving plus flexibility rather than a full food itinerary. The Trail Hopper hop-on hop-off bus at from A$100 per person includes transport, bottled water and GST, and nothing else; tastings and food are both yours to arrange. The three Barossa Helicopters flights, at 10, 20 and 30 minutes, are scenic flights, not wine tours, and carry no meal at all. If you are touring with someone who does not drink, our breakdown of what non-drinkers actually get on a Barossa wine tour covers which operators offer soft drinks with lunch and what sober guests still pay for.
The private group is the one worth reading twice, because the prices are per group and the lunch is not. The Barossa Bespoke private tailored day is from A$750 per group for up to 6, with tasting fees also not included. The SAVICONNECT private luxury full day is from about A$375 per group, and unlike the Bespoke row it does include tasting fees at wineries from its selection while still excluding lunch. The Best Wine Tours BMW sedan tour is from A$639 per group for up to 4 over five hours, lunch not included.
| Tour (decision name) | From (as printed) | Why no lunch, per the listing |
|---|---|---|
| Hop-On Hop-Off, No Meal | A$100 per person | Transport-only product; inclusions list bottled water, GST, no meal |
| Private Tailored Day, No Lunch | A$750 per group (up to 6) | Private, tailored tour; lunch and tasting fees not included |
| Flexible Private Luxury, No Lunch | about A$375 per group | Fully flexible and bespoke; tasting fees included, lunch not |
| Private BMW Sedan, 5 Hours | A$639 per group (up to 4) | Sedan, guide and snacks listed; lunch not included |
| Private Trike for Two, Half Day | about A$259 per group (for 2) | 3.5-hour trike experience; no meal listed |
| 10-Minute Private Helicopter | A$275 per group (up to 3) | Scenic flight, not a wine tour |
| 20-Minute Flight, Western Ridge | A$550 per group (up to 3) | Scenic flight, not a wine tour |
| 30-Minute Deluxe Helicopter | A$825 per group (up to 3) | Scenic flight, not a wine tour |
| Self-Drive Trail, Cheese and Tapas | A$90 per person | Self-guided trail; price covers three experiences, no meal |
The e-bike listing is the one row that cuts across the divide. Bike About's guided e-bike day, from about A$335 per person, is built around movement between cellar doors but still includes an artisan platter lunch with wine tastings at Yalumba, plus coffee and cake at the Barossa Valley Chocolate Company. It is a reminder that format does not decide the lunch question; the listing does.

Why would anyone choose a no-lunch listing? Two honest reasons. The first is control: on a private day, stopping where you want for as long as you want is the product, and a pre-set meal works against it. A guest review of the Barossa Bespoke private day captures the trade: "He took us to amazing wineries and booked us the perfect spot for lunch." The lunch still happened; it just was not bundled. The second is the drink-driving maths. South Australia's full-licence limit is 0.05, and a first offence under 0.08 brings an expiation notice and 4 demerit points, per the state's Department for Infrastructure and Transport. If a self-drive day is on your mind, a tour with a driver, lunch included or not, removes that variable entirely.
Among the shared days, one stands out for pairing lunch with the region's other famous food stop. Benders Bus Tours' Hahndorf and Barossa combo, from A$175 per person with a 4.9 rating from 496 reviews, includes a gourmet lunch plus visits to Beerenberg Farm, Melba's Chocolate and Seppeltsfield, and a guest review singles out the guide: "A gifted communicator, Amanda made our day memorable with snippets of interesting information as we travelled from place to place."
Can You Buy Lunch On A Tour That Does Not Include One?
Yes, you can buy lunch on a Barossa tour even when one is not included, because in practice almost every no-lunch listing still routes you past food: the region's cellar doors, winery restaurants, and town bakeries sit on the same streets the tours drive down, so you will pass plenty of places to buy a meal along the way. The hop-on hop-off bus moves you between venues where food is sold. The private days stop wherever you choose. What changes is who pays and who books, and on a busy weekend at a winery restaurant, the booking part matters.
The region's own tourism site names the winery lunch options travellers ask about: FINO at Seppeltsfield, Kies Family Wines with its platter lunches, and the eatery at Maggie Beer's Farm Shop. Several of the tours we list already route through these, which is the simplest solution of all. The Bums on Seats coach days include lunch at Kies Family Wines and a Maggie Beer Farm visit in the same ticket. Seppeltsfield's own 100 Year Old Signature Experience, listed on the regional tourism site at about A$339, wraps a Centennial Cellar tour, a tasting of 100-year-old Para Tawny from barrel and a multi-course lunch at FINO into one booking, though that is bought from the estate rather than through the tours here. If the Seppeltsfield lunch option has you wondering which estate truly carries the region's biggest name, our guide to the Barossa's most famous winery compares the contenders honestly.
There is a hedge worth stating. This site only prints winery restaurant prices where the tour listings themselves state them, and menus change. The tasting-fee picture is better documented: the regional visitor guide lists example fees with Jacob's Creek flights at A$15 to A$30 per person, Kaesler's Premium Estate Tasting at A$20 per person redeemable on bottle purchase, and Yalumba's standard tasting at A$10, per the Barossa Visitor Centre Wine Resource Guide. A reasonable planning range for a standard flight is roughly A$10 to A$30 per person, and it varies by cellar door.
Budgeting a no-lunch day, then, means adding a meal and possibly tasting fees on top of the ticket. A hop-on hop-off day at from A$100 per person plus a winery lunch plus two or three tasting fees lands in the same territory as the A$175 to A$209 full-day tours that bundle everything. That is not an argument one way or the other; it is arithmetic, and it is the reason our small group Barossa tours hub sorts listings by what is actually included.
How Do You Pick Between A Lunch Tour And A Flexible One?
Choose a lunch-included tour when you want a fixed, all-day structure with no mid-day decisions, and choose a no-lunch listing when the freedom to stop, skip or linger matters more than the price of a platter. Travellers with children, tight schedules or a train back to Adelaide in the evening usually land on the first group. Travellers who already know two cellar doors they love, or who are pairing a flight or a trike ride with a long lunch, land on the second.
Budget is the honest third factor. Per person, the lunch-included full days here run from A$149 to A$380, and the no-lunch products run from A$90 to about A$335 per person or, for the private rows, from about A$259 to A$750 per group. Comparing a per-person ticket with a per-group price without saying which basis applies is the classic booking mistake, which is why every figure in this article carries its basis as printed on the listing.
One pair of listings shows how fine the line can be. CP Tours and Charters' Cellar Door Small Group day is from A$189 per person, includes lunch at The Tanunda Club and includes standard tasting fees, and carries a 4.8 rating from 545 reviews. A guest review on that listing: "The lunch was exceptional and we all enjoyed it immensely." Trail Hopper's hop-on hop-off bus is from A$100 per person with neither lunch nor tastings included, and its 4.9 rating from 442 reviews reflects a different product: a reviewer there writes, "This is a fabulous and easy way to see some of the best spots in the Barossa."
Neither review is wrong. They describe two different days, and the only way to know which one you are buying is the inclusions list. This site's stance, as Barossa Valley Wine Tours, is simple: read the row, not the name, and treat "Premium" or "All Inclusive" in a title as marketing until the inclusions confirm it. The All Inclusive Barossa Food and Wine tour, for instance, does include lunch, coffee and tastings, but its row does not state tasting fees as a line item, and that gap is exactly the kind of detail worth checking on the live listing before you book.
Whatever you choose, check the cancellation terms on the specific listing. The Premium Small Group tour prints free cancellation up to 24 hours before departure; the hop-on hop-off row shows its cutoff on the live booking page; the Voyager small-group row lists no standard refund window at all, so its terms need reading rather than assuming. Cancellation is a per-listing detail on these tours, never a blanket rule.
Common Questions About Barossa Wine Tours And Lunch
Do Barossa Wine Tours Include Lunch?
Seventeen of the 26 live Barossa listings include lunch, and nine do not. Every full-day shared coach, small-group and max-6 wine tour in the line-up includes it, while the hop-on hop-off bus, the three helicopter flights, the half-day trike, the self-drive trail and several private touring days leave the meal to you.
Which Barossa tours do not include lunch?
The Trail Hopper hop-on hop-off bus, all three Barossa Helicopters flights, the half-day private trike, the Vinarchy self-drive trail, the Barossa Bespoke private tailored day, the SAVICONNECT private luxury full day and the Best Wine Tours BMW sedan tour all list no lunch. Each of those rows states this directly, and none should be assumed to include a meal.
What kind of lunch do Barossa wine tours include?
It varies by listing and is printed on each one: regional platters at See Adelaide, AMQ Tours and Wine Diva, a clubhouse meal at The Tanunda Club on the CP Tours day, a multi-course restaurant lunch with a premium beverage on the Small Batch max-6 tour, and a wine-paired degustation on the ExperienceSA private premium day.
Do tasting fees come included when lunch does?
Not necessarily, and the two are decided separately on each tour's listing. The CP Tours cellar door day includes both lunch and standard tasting fees, while See Adelaide's premium day includes lunch but does not state tasting fees. Six rows include fees, three state them not included, and the rest do not say.
Can you buy lunch on a tour that does not include it?
Yes. The hop-on hop-off bus drops you at venues where food is sold, and private drivers stop wherever you book. Winery lunch options named by the regional tourism site include FINO at Seppeltsfield, Kies Family Wines and Maggie Beer's eatery, and several bundled tours already route through those same kitchens.
Are dietary needs catered for?
On the tours that spell it out, yes: the Benders Bus Tours gourmet vineyard lunch lists gluten-free, vegan and vegetarian options, and the AMQ Tours shared tour listing states dietary requirements are catered for. For any other tour on this site, ask through the booking page before you pay, as listings rarely spell out kitchen-level detail.